Participants Window in Blackboard Collaborate

The Participants Window shows all of the participants in a Blackboard Collaborate session, along with status information for each participant, and several buttons controlling important functions.

Participants Window

Along with a name, information displayed about a participant may include that he/she:

  • is a moderator;
  • is using his/her microphone and/or webcam;
  • has clicked an emoticon icon;
  • has stepped away from the session;
  • has raised his/her hand; and
  • has entered a response to a poll.

Emoticons

Several emoticons are available for you to display under your name (see right image below). Hover your mouse pointer over the emoticon button, and select an emoticon from the drop-down menu that appears (see left image below). The emoticon will disappear from beneath your name 10 seconds after you select it.

Emoticons Emoticons

Step Away

If you need to step away from your Blackboard Collaborate session, you can click the Step Away button (next to the Emoticons button). The word ‘Away’ will appear beneath your name. When you return to the session, click the Step Away button again to remove the ‘Away‘ and indicate that you have returned.

Step Away button

Raise Hand

You can indicate that you would like to speak during your class session by using the Raise Hand button. Clicking this button causes a hand to appear beside your name, along with a number that indicates your position in the queue for the microphone. This number will decrease as other participants (ahead of you in the queue) use the microphone and lower their hands. When you become number 1 in the queue, the current moderator will tell you when you may use the microphone, just as if you were in a live classroom and put your hand up to speak. Be sure to click the Raise Hand again once you are finished your turn with the microphone, as this will ‘lower your hand’.

In the image below, you can see that the Raise Hand button has been pressed and a ‘1’ has appeared beside ‘Student’.

Raise Hand button

Poll Reponses

The presenter/moderator for your Blackboard Collaborate class may ask you to respond to a poll at some point during your session. These polls may be formatted as Yes/No or Multiple Choice. The appropriate response options will appear in a menu when you hover your mouse pointer over the Respond to poll button (see left image below). Your choice of response will appear to the right of your name (see right image below). Your poll response will remain until the presenter/moderator clears all responses.

Poll Responses Poll Reponse displayed

Permissions

Audio

If granted, this privilege allows a participant to pick up and use the microphone, if it is not in use by another participant (if another person is using the microphone, the microphone icon in the Audio window will be greyed-out.) See the Audio & Video window page in this Startup Kit for more information on how to use the microphone.

Video

If granted, this privilege allows a participant to broadcast live video from his or her webcam to the Blackboard Collaborate room. See the Audio & Video window page in this Startup Kit for more information on how to broadcast your webcam video.

Chat

If granted, this privilege allows a participant to send text messages in the Chat window. If your text message privilege has been removed, you will still be able to send messages to your instructor/moderator (for example, to find out why you can't send messages to the room!). See the Chat window page in this Startup Kit for more information on how to use the Chat Window.

Whiteboard

If granted, this privilege allows a participant to use the Whiteboard editing tools (such as the text tool, the line tool, etc) and to make changes to pages in the Whiteboard. See the Whiteboard present page in this Startup Kit for more information on how to use the Whiteboard.

Application Sharing

If granted, this privilege allows a participant to share her/his desktop, or an application open on her/his desktop, with the rest of the Blackboard Collaborate room.

If you share your desktop or an application open on your desktop, this means that the other participants in your class session will be shown a live image of your desktop or the open application. They can then watch as changes are made, for instance, to a Microsoft Office Word document. They can even be allowed to control the application or the desktop themselves. See the Application sharing page in this Startup Kit for more information about application sharing.

Web Tour

If granted, this privilege allows a participant to lead a web tour. See the Web tours page in this Startup Kit for more information on how to lead a web tour.

Closed-Captioning

If granted, this privilege allows a participant to open the Closed Captioning window, in order to transcribe the audio of the Blackboard Collaborate session.

 

Onlinehelp

  • Contact
    Phone (North America)
    » 250.721.8476
    » 1.888.721.8476 (toll-free)
    Phone (International)
    » 00.1.250.721.8476
    E-mail TILhelp@uvic.ca
  • Hours (Pacific Time)
    Monday to Thursday
    » 8:30 am to 7:00 pm
    Friday
    » 8:30 am to 6:00 pm
    Saturday & Sunday
    » 10:00 am to 4:00 pm

Calendars

Feedback

Related links