Class management in Blackboard Collaborate

Note that the instructions in this section only apply to participants who have moderator privilege. In this section, we will discuss the permissions you have as a moderator, and the procedures you need to follow when presenting as a moderator.

Permissions

The permissions that Blackboard Collaborate participants have been given (for example, the right to use the microphone or to use the Chat window) determine what functionality they will have during the session. In most cases, the audio, video, chat and Whiteboard privilegs are automatically granted to all participants. As a moderator, you will be able to grant revoke these, and other, permissions.

To grant or revoke a privilege, right-click a participant’s name in the Participants Window, and click on the specific privilege that you wish to grant or revoke. if a participant has a specific privilege, the icon for the privilege will appear raised, with a grey border. In the image below, the Student user has the audio, video, chat and Whiteboard permissions, but not the application sharing, web tour, or closed captioning permissions.

Permissions

To learn what each of the permission icons represent, see the Participants window page in this Startup Kit.

Procedures

Presenting in Blackboard Collaborate is very much like presenting in a live classroom.

  • When you are presenting, you will have the microphone and will be describing the slides of your presentation as you advance them.
  • When a participant wishes to ask a question or make a comment, they will ‘raise their hand’ using the ‘Raise Hand’ button. You will hear a beep and see a number beside the participant’s name in the Participants window page.
  • When you are ready to allow the participant to speak, invite them verbally to do so and then click on the ‘Microphone’ button in the Audio Window to release the microphone and allow the participant to pick it up.
  • When the participant is finished speaking, they will release the microphone (you may need to remind them to do so!) at which time you can pick it up again yourself and respond to their question or comment, or continue with your presentation.

Settings

Maximum Simultaneous Talkers

For the purposes of some Blackboard Collaborate sessions, you may wish to allow more than one participant to activate their microphones at the same time. You can enable this for up to six participants. From the Tools menu, hover over Audio and select Maximum Simultaneous Talkers…. On the Maximum Simultaneous Talkers window, move the slider to the number of simultaneous talkers you wish to enable and click OK.

Maximum Simultaneous Talkers

Maximum Simultaneous Cameras

For the purposes of some Blackboard Collaborate sessions, you may wish to allow more than one participant to broadcast their webcams at the same time. You can enable this for up to six participants. From the Tools menu, hover over Video and select Maximum Simultaneous Cameras. On the Maximum Simultaneous Cameras window, move the slider to the number of simultaneous cameras you wish to enable and click OK.

Maximum Simultaneous Cameras

 

Onlinehelp

  • Contact
    Phone (North America)
    » 250.721.8476
    » 1.888.721.8476 (toll-free)
    Phone (International)
    » 00.1.250.721.8476
    E-mail TILhelp@uvic.ca
  • Hours (Pacific Time)
    Monday to Thursday
    » 8:30 am to 7:00 pm
    Friday
    » 8:30 am to 6:00 pm
    Saturday & Sunday
    » 10:00 am to 4:00 pm

Calendars

Feedback

Related links